Icon (Close Menu)


Committee Formed to Help Hire Next University of Arkansas Chancellor

2 min read

The University of Arkansas System has formed a search committee to help hire the next chancellor of its flagship campus in Fayetteville. 

Charles Robinson has been serving as chancellor, in an interim capacity, since August. He was named to that role following Chancellor Joe Steinmetz’s sudden resignation in June. 

The committee includes faculty, staff and supporters and will advise System President Donald Bobbitt. He will ultimately recommend a candidate to the UA Board of Trustees for final approval. 

The committee will begin its work in the coming weeks to advertise and recruit for the position nationwide. A search webpage hosted by the university will also be developed as a reference for candidates and a hub for search-related news. 

More information will be available after the committee’s initial meetings.

The committee will be chaired by Kim Needy, dean of the College of Engineering. The other members are:

  • Paul Adams, professor of chemistry and biochemistry.

  • Alena Allen, interim dean of the School of Law.

  • Lowry Barnes, professor and chair of the UAMS Department of Orthopaedics.

  • Chuck Culver, interim vice president for agriculture.

  • Ross DeVol, president and CEO of Heartland Forward.

  • Clayton Hamilton, chief financial officer of the Department of Athletics.

  • Melissa Harwood-Rom, interim vice chancellor for student affairs and dean of students.

  • Bill Kincaid, managing associate general counsel.

  • Jisun Lee, assistant professor of interior design.

  • Alan Mantooth, distinguished professor of electrical engineering.

  • Suzanne McCray, vice provost for enrollment and dean of admissions.

  • Debbie McLoud, associate vice chancellor for human resources.

  • Katy Nelson-Ginder, associate vice chancellor for university development.

  • Sheffield Nelson, a UA Board of Trustees member.

  • Molly Rapert, associate professor of marketing.

  • Mary Savin, chair of the Faculty Senate.

  • Donald Walker, president-elect of the Arkansas Alumni Association.

  • Trish Watkins, chair of the Staff Senate.

Bobbitt and Ben Beaumont on the UA System staff will act as ex officio members of the committee.

Send this to a friend