Icon (Close Menu)


David Haak Appointed to State Highway Commission

1 min read

Gov. Sarah Huckabee Sanders has appointed former state Rep. David Haak of Texarkana to serve on the Arkansas Highway Commission.

Haak replaces Robert Moore. His term will expire on Jan. 14. 

“David’s lifetime of public service, community involvement, and strong leadership will make him an asset to the commission – and I am confident that together we will ensure that U.S. Highway 82 finally becomes a four-lane interstate, unleashing south Arkansas’ full economic potential,” Sanders said in a statement.

During Haak’s time in office, he served on numerous committees including the Joint Budget Committee, Revenue and Tax Committee, and Insurance and Commerce Committee. He also served on the Arkansas Economic Development Commission from 2005-2008 and on the Arkansas Waterways Commission in 2021.

Haak has served on the Texarkana Arkansas City Council, as a Texarkana Chamber of Commerce board member, and on the Texarkana Arkansas Zoning and Planning Commission. 

“I’m ready to get to work empowering our people with strong and reliable highway infrastructure and prioritizing the completion of an interstate from Texarkana to Lake Village,” Haak said.

Send this to a friend