Icon (Close Menu)


From AIA Arkansas President Randy Palculict: Celebrating Architecture

3 min read

I am honored to present the 2018 AIA Arkansas Design Awards. The design award program is our way of showcasing the outstanding design talent and diligent work ethic that exemplifies the design community found in Arkansas.

This year, 51 entries were submitted to an independent panel of judges from Nashville, Tennessee. The individual jury members were selected for their diverse design backgrounds and sensibilities. The judges were Ryan Thewes of Ryan Thewes Architect, Nick Dryden of Dryden Architecture and Design, Kem Hinton of Tuck-Hinton and Sheila Dial of EOA. Of the 51 entries, four were selected as finalists, while 12 were selected as award winners. The ranked submissions can be found throughout this publication.

In addition to the jury-selected recipients, AIA Arkansas honors two other recipients through the Members’ Choice Award and the People’s Choice Award. The People’s Choice Award is an award that allows the public to view all entries and choose their favorite project. Both awards are chosen by popular vote.

The cover of this year’s publication highlights the 2017 Members’ Choice Award winner, the Windgate Art & Design Building designed by WER Architects/Planners.

The Fay Jones Gold Medal Award is the highest award AIA Arkansas can bestow upon one of its members. The award recognizes an individual architect who has demonstrated touchstones of excellence through artistic vision and design, leadership and service to the state of Arkansas and the AIA Arkansas Chapter. Excellence is measured not only by the mark of architectural and individual achievement, but through the esteem and regard held for the architect by professional practitioners and the community as a whole. This year’s recipient is Joe Stanley, AIA, of Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects. Throughout PSW’s 40-year history, Joe has inspired many architects who went on to be principals in their own offices, and he remains a trusted source of counsel to those and other young practitioners throughout the state as they build their firms. Joe, more than anyone, embodies the attitude of spirited but cooperative competition.

The Dick Savage Memorial Award is AIA Arkansas’ recognition of a member who has made notable, significant contributions to the chapter and the profession. This year’s award goes to Thad Kelly, FAIA. For over 16 years he’s made significant contributions to both the AIA Arkansas Chapter and the profession. Thad has held AIA positions at the section, state, regional and national levels.

The Emerging Professional Award is intended to recognize a professional, practicing for 10 years or less, who has expanded the role of the architect through civic participation and professional mentorship. This year’s recipient is Lori Yazwinski Santa-Rita, AIA, LEED AP. Licensed in 2011, Lori has built her career at what was formerly known as Maurice Jennings Architects, now known as Jennings+Santa-Rita Architects, after working her way up to partner in 2015. Lori’s leadership and service to our profession is broad and engaged. Respected by her colleagues and peers, she has committed her personal and professional time, energy and passion to bettering our state and advocating for our profession.

We hope you enjoy this publication and its celebration of architecture in Arkansas!

Randy Palculict, AIA, LEED BD+C
President, AIA Arkansas

See more profiles from the 2018 AIA Arkansas Design Awards.

Send this to a friend