Icon (Close Menu)

Subscribe Start Your Free Trial of
Arkansas Business (logo)

GOP Votes in 3 Arkansas Races; Primary Set for Files’ Seat

1 min read

LITTLE ROCK — Republican voters were selecting nominees for two state Senate seats Tuesday, along with a representative from the Marshall area.

Three Russellville Republicans hope to replace the late Sen. Greg Standridge. Bob Bailey, Breanne Davis or Luke Heffley will face Democrat Teresa Gallegos in May. A runoff, if necessary, would be March 13.

Ex-Cabot School Board members Jim Coy and Ricky Hill seek Eddie Joe Williams’ Senate seat. Williams joined the Trump administration. The winner faces Democrat Steven McNeely of Jacksonville in May.

Republicans Donald Ragland and Timmy Reid seek a House seat vacated by Trump appointee David Branscum.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson said a primary for Jake Files’ Senate seat will be held May 22, with a general election Aug. 14. The Fort Smith Republican pleaded guilty to fraud charges last month.

(All contents © copyright 2018 Associated Press. All rights reserved.)

Send this to a friend