Icon (Close Menu)


Governor Honors Trade Excellence Among Arkansas Firms

2 min read

Gov. Asa Hutchinson on Wednesday hosted the ninth annual Governor’s Awards for Excellence in Global Trade. 

The luncheon, organized by the Arkansas District Export Council, took place at at the Governor’s Mansion in Little Rock. Five Arkansas companies were honored during the event, which included a keynote address by Marc Killebrew, vice president of international sales for Tyson Foods Inc. of Springdale.

“Trade is vitally important for Arkansas,” Hutchinson said in a news release. “Increasing exports of Arkansas-made and Arkansas-grown products results in two excellent outcomes. It produces extra capital for companies to invest in their facilities and creates new employment opportunities for Arkansans.”

The award-winning companies are:

Arkansas Rising Star Award

Clear Ballistics of Fort Smith, which clear synthetic ballistics gelatin used by investigators, gun clubs, federal agencies and others.

Sustainability Award

Ecojohn of North Little Rock, which makes and supplies environmentally friendly waste management solutions, including products that evaporate sewage and waste into a small neutralized ash for disposal.

Small Company Exporter

Safe Foods Corp. of North Little Rock, which provides food safety knowledge, products and other services to domestic and international food processors. Its products aim to reduce pathogen levels and extend shelf life of food. It exports to Canada, Mexico, Panama, Costa Rica, Colombia, Chile, and Saudi Arabia.

Medium Company Exporter

Allen Engineering Corp. of Paragould, which sells equipment, including truss screeds, concrete pavers, riding trowels and composite disks, to the concrete industry. The firm exports to Canada, Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, Europe, Asia, Australia and South Africa.

Large Company Exporter

Saint Jean Industries of Heber Springs, a manufacturer serving the automotive, aeronautics, energy and chemical industries, exporting to China, Canada, Germany, France and Australia.

Send this to a friend