Icon (Close Menu)


Jim Washam Named Dean of A-State Business School (Movers & Shakers)

2 min read

Jim Washam is the new dean of the Neil Griffin College of Business at Arkansas State University in Jonesboro. Washam, who has been serving as interim dean for the past year, has been an instructor at Arkansas State since 1989.

Jean-Noel Thompson has been appointed as the new executive vice president of Harding University in Searcy. He will serve alongside the new president, Mike Williams, as he begins his term. Thompson earned his doctorate in higher education and student affairs from Indiana University.

Joshua Engle has been named the new dean of student affairs at the University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College in North Little Rock. Engle was previously serving as the dean of students and Title IX officer of Southwestern Oklahoma State University of Weatherford.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock has made several staff changes recently. The following professors have received tenure and are now associate professors: Moiz Bhai, economics; Laura Danforth, social work; Katie Helms, sport management; Richard Kumi, business information systems; Robert Lytle, criminal justice; Sherrie Norwood, law; Casey Rockwell, marketing and advertising; Ashokkumar Sharma, mechanical engineering technology; Noureen Siraj, chemistry; Jan Springer, computer science; and Shanzhi Wang, chemistry.

The following have been promoted from associate professor to professor: Erin Finzer, Spanish; Rebecca Glazier, political science; Amar Kanekar, health education and promotion; Lei Li, biology; Charles Romney, history; Tusty ten Bensel, criminal justice; and Richard Woolridge, business information systems.

Linda Holzer has been promoted to university professor of music, and Robert Corwyn has been promoted to distinguished professor of psychology. Additionally, Miles Blanton was promoted to advanced instructor for physics and astronomy, and Bruce Bauer to senior instructor for information science.

The new coordinator of the recently completed Learning Commons at UA Little Rock will be Brandon Sollars. UA Little Rock also named Carrie Phillips the new chief communications and marketing officer.

In addition, the university has hired Annmarie Dill as a technical writer and editor for UA Little Rock’s Center for Integrative Nanotechnology Sciences.

Send this to a friend