Icon (Close Menu)


Robert Moore Elected Chairman of State Highway Commission

1 min read

Robert S. Moore Jr. of Arkansas City was elected chairman of the Arkansas Highway Commission at a special meeting March 9, the Arkansas Department of Transportation said Wednesday.

Moore has been vice chairman for the past 14 months. He replaces Thomas B. Schueck of Little Rock, who died March 3

Moore was appointed by former Gov. Mike Beebe and will continue to serve on the commission until January 2023. 

Commissioner Dalton A. “Alec” Farmer Jr. of Jonesboro was elected vice chairman. He was appointed by Gov. Asa Hutchinson, and his term expires January 2025.

Moore served three terms with the Arkansas House of Representatives and as Speaker of the House for the 88th General Assembly. He helped secure the National Scenic Byway recognition for Arkansas Highway 4 through Arkansas City and helped the Arkansas Game & Fish Commission acquire the 10,000 acres surrounding Arkansas City that became Choctaw Island Wildlife Management Area.

Moore was inducted in the Arkansas Tourism Hall of Fame last year for those efforts and others that boosted state tourism.

Moore is also a former director of the Arkansas Alcoholic Beverage Control Board.

Send this to a friend