Icon (Close Menu)


Susannah Marshall Named State Bank Commissioner

1 min read

Gov. Asa Hutchinson has appointed Susannah Marshall as the next Arkansas State Bank Department commissioner.

“Susannah Marshall understands banking and knows Arkansas banks as well as anyone in the state,” Hutchinson said in a news release. “Her promotion to commissioner will provide a seamless transition of leadership as Commissioner [Candace] Franks retires with the banking department in excellent condition.”

Marshall is a 2011 Arkansas 40 Under 40 alumnus who has worked for the department since 1995 and was appointed deputy bank commissioner in 2007. She will replace Franks, who will retire on Oct. 1 after 40 years with the department.

Before her appointment as deputy bank commissioner, Marshall was a commercial bank examiner from 1995 to 2003. In 2005, she became a financial analyst and was promoted to financial analyst supervisor.

“As commissioner, I will work to further strengthen the regulatory partnership with Arkansas banks and help our industry build on many years of growth and success,” Marshall said. “Arkansas is a national leader in banking and finance, and our institutions are committed to serving their customers and enhancing economic development in their communities.”

Marshall earned her bachelor’s degree in accounting from Arkansas State University in Jonesboro in 1994. She is a 2002 graduate of the Southwestern Graduate School of Banking in Dallas. Marshall has also obtained the designation of commissioned senior examiner and is a certified examination manager.

She previously served on the board of directors for the Conference of State Bank Supervisors and currently serves on various committees within that organization.

Send this to a friend