Icon (Close Menu)


The Year in Executive Q&A: 2023

3 min read

Welcome to 2024, when Arkansas Business will mark its 40th anniversary serving the business community of this state. We’ll start out by looking back — and not just at my vaguely familiar face as I return to serve as interim editor following Lance Turner’s career move. As has been our custom for several years, the first issue of the new year is a compilation of Executive Q&A features from the year that has just ended.

Gwen Moritz

Every week, we ask executives from businesses, nonprofits and government agencies to answer questions about their organizations, their industries and themselves. It’s a way for all of us — you and our reporting staff — to get better acquainted with the people, businesses and industries that make up the business community that is our common interest. These are people you buy from and sell to, or maybe you should. Or they may be your competitors, and there’s nothing more valuable than knowing what the competition is thinking.

I’m always humbled by the caliber of executives who participate in this feature. It is a compliment to Arkansas Business and to our audience that they agree to help make our publication more valuable to readers.

The Executive Q&A will continue throughout 2024. If you know of someone who would make a worthy subject, email me at gmoritz@abpg.com.

Gwen Moritz
Interim Editor

Wayne Smith,
General Manager, Oaklawn Racing Casino Resort in Hot Springs

Mike Donnell,
President of Chambers Bank in Danville

Summer DeProw,
Chancellor, University of Arkansas-Pulaski Technical College

H. Craig Boone,
President of Architecture Plus Inc. of Fort Smith

Kattie Hansen,
CEO of Native Green Dispensary, Little Rock

Whitley Dunn,
Founder & President of Dunn Property Management of Fayetteville

Arthur Orduña,
Executive Director, The Venture Center of Little Rock

Stanley A. Johnson,
Owner & CEO of D.I.M. Way LLC of North Little Rock

Andrea Alford,
Executive Director of the Arkansas Real Estate Commission

Adriana ‘Adri’ Graham,
Senior Director of Information Technology at Tyson Foods Inc.

Mark Snowden,
President & CEO of First Electric Cooperative Corp. & Connect2First of Jacksonville

Keith Smith,
Vice President of Sales, Keith Smith Co. of Hot Springs

Jennifer Linam Hobbs,
Mayor of Wynne

Kalene Griffith,
CEO, Visit Bentonville

Steve Quattlebaum,
Managing member, Quattlebaum Grooms & Tull PLLC of Little Rock

Bill Sowell,
CEO, Sowell Management LLC of North Little Rock

Carol Silva Moralez,
President & CEO of Upskill NWA of Springdale

Mary Fowler,
CEO, Peoples Bank of Magnolia

Clint O’Neal,
Executive Director, Arkansas Economic Development Commission

Lorie Tudor,
Director of the Arkansas Department of Transportation

Karen K. Petersen,
President of Hendrix College in Conway

Kecia Wolf,
President & CEO of Southwest Arkansas Electric Cooperative in Texarkana

Kyle Cunningham,
Arkansas State Forester

Larry Dunaway,
Mayor & Public Works Director, Nashville

David Roth,
President & CEO, Workmatters of Fayetteville

C. Isaac Smith,
President, Colliers Arkansas

Tom Grumbles,
Chairman, President & CEO, First Service Bank of Greenbrier

Holley Little,
Director, Arkansas Society of Human Resource Management State Council

Adriene Brown,
Arkansas District Director, Small Business Administration

Janell Mason,
CEO, Ronald McDonald House Charities of Arkansas & North Louisiana

Dr. Bruce Murphy,
CEO, Arkansas Heart Hospital of Little Rock

Marco McClendon,
Mayor of West Memphis

Amy Johnson,
Head of Schools, Arkansas Virtual Academy

Dalaney Thomas,
Director of Tourism at the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage & Tourism

David Stickler,
Senior Managing Partner at Global Principal Partners LLC of Miami

Monique Sanders,
Chief Financial Officer, Arkansas Foodbank of Little Rock

Send this to a friend