Icon (Close Menu)


UALR Names Aresh Assadi Director of Counseling Services (Movers & Shakers)

2 min read
Movers 4-10 Education
Aresh Assadi ( UALR)

Aresh Assadi has been named the director of counseling services at the University of Arkansas at Little Rock. Assadi will be responsible for managing the counseling team, providing crisis intervention assistance to students, supervising a team of clinical interns and providing mental health programming to the campus.

Movers 4-10 Education
Taylor Collins ( Black River Technical College)

Taylor Collins has joined Black River Technical College of Pocahontas as the SNAP/TANF coordinator for the Adult Education Department. 

Lt. Col. Jason Smedley has been named commandant of the Arkansas Military & First Responders Academy in Little Rock. Smedley, who has more than 20 years of legislative experience and military service, will oversee all operations as the chief executive at AMFRA. The charter high school is scheduled to open in August 2023. Kevin Durand has been hired as the chief academic officer of AMFRA. Durand has more than three decades of education experience and will work with families and students to broaden the educational opportunities of the academy.

Movers 4-10 Education
Kayleigh Smith ( Central Baptist College)

Kayleigh Smith has been hired as PACE enrollment coordinator at Central Baptist College in Conway. She will focus on building business partnerships throughout central Arkansas.

Seven staff members at Arkansas Tech University of Russellville have been promoted to professor. They are Jeff Aulgur, Department of Emergency Management, Professional Studies and Student Affairs Administration; Barbara Clements, Department of Music; Nicolas del Grazia, Department of Music; Lisa Harless, Department of Nursing; Mohamed Ibrahim, Department of Teaching & Educational Leadership; Efosa Idemudia, School of Business; and Jerry Wood, Department of Engineering & Computing Sciences. In addition, four have been promoted to associate professor. They are Seyed Hosseini, Department of Engineering & Computing Sciences; Mehmet Kelestemur, Department of Engineering & Computing Sciences; William Reeder, Department of Communication & Media Studies; and Megan Toland, Department of Communication & Media Studies. Finally, three have been promoted to senior instructor positions: Michael Bradley, Department of Agriculture & Tourism; Theresa Cullen, Department of Teaching & Educational Leadership; and Sarah Gordon, Department of Teaching & Educational Leadership.

The University of Arkansas at Little Rock has announced seven new members of the university’s Alumni Board of Directors. They are Stephanie Caruthers, a partner in Trio’s Restaurant in Little Rock; Guy Choate, the creative communications leader at Garver of North Little Rock; Sam Dunkum, client relationship associate in the private client group at Stephens Inc. of Little Rock; Gerald Gregory, the chief operations officer and co-owner of Garrett Excavating of Benton; Audra Hinton, director of enrollment management at Shorter College of North Little Rock; Tania Martinez, a hospitality industry veteran with experience in the diplomatic public sector and private banking; and Antonio Mosby, fire captain at the Little Rock Fire Department and fire marshal with the Fire Prevention & Investigations Bureau. All will serve three-year terms.

See more of this week’s Movers & Shakers, and submit your own announcement at ArkansasBusiness.com/Movers.

Send this to a friend