Icon (Close Menu)


UAMS’ Mabry Named ACS Officer; Lee Joins Jones Eye Institute (Movers & Shakers)

2 min read

Dr. Charles D. Mabry, an associate professor of surgery at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock and medical director of physician practice management at Jefferson Regional Medical Center in Pine Bluff, is the new first vice president of the American College of Surgeons. A fellow of the ACS since 1984, Mabry served three terms on the ACS board of regents and is a past president of the ACS Arkansas chapter.

Dr. Christopher Lee has joined the Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute at UAMS and will serve as an assistant professor in the UAMS College of Medicine’s Department of Ophthalmology. A glaucoma specialist, Lee was previously at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas, where he completed his residency and fellowship, following an internship in internal medicine at St. Joseph Mercy Hospital in Ann Arbor, Michigan. He earned his medical degree at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio.

Dr. Kristy King, an internal medicine physician, has joined Conway Regional Health System as a hospitalist.

A graduate of the University of Arkansas at Pine Bluff and the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences in Little Rock, King completed a three-year residency in internal medicine at West Virginia University Hospital at Morgantown.

She has practiced at several area hospitals, including St. Vincent Rehabilitation Hospital and Conway Regional.

Dr. Joycelyn Elders, the former U.S. Surgeon General, has been named the recipient of the 2017 Dr. Tom Bruce Arkansas Health Impact Award from the Arkansas Center for Health Improvement, a nonpartisan, independent health policy center in Little Rock.

Dr. Jeff Angel and Dr. Chris White, both of White River Health System in Batesville, recently received the Distinguished Service Award from the Arkansas Hospital Association.

Angel is an orthopedic surgeon and Steel is director of anesthesiology at WRHS, and they are co-directors of White River Medical Center’s Perioperative Surgical Home.

WRHS Administrator Gary Bebow received the AHA’s Grassroots Champion Award for his work to inform and educate elected officials about how major issues affect the hospital’s role in the community.

Gary Paxson, WRMC chief operating officer, received the Arkansas College of Healthcare Executives’ Early Careerist Regent’s Award.

See more of this week’s Movers & Shakers, and submit your own announcement at ArkansasBusiness.com/Movers.

Send this to a friend