Icon (Close Menu)


UAMS Oncologist Invested in Distinguished Chair in Physician Leadership (Super Mover)

1 min read

Dr. Omar T. Atiq, a medical oncologist at the UAMS Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute and a distinguished professor in the College of Medicine’s Department of Internal Medicine’s Division of Hematology & Oncology, was recently invested in the inaugural Distinguished Chair in Physician Leadership that was named for him.

Scott McGeorge of White Hall endowed the chair in gratitude for the oncological care that was provided by Atiq and the Rockefeller Cancer Institute. An endowed chair is established with gifts of at least $1 million, and the Atiq family made a gift that elevated the chair to a distinguished chair, which means at least $1.5 million is available to fund future Arkansas physician leaders.

Atiq received his medical degree from the Khyber Medical College, University of Peshawar, Pakistan. He completed his residency in internal medicine at the Edward Hines Jr. Veterans Administration Hospital and Foster G. McGaw Hospital of Loyola University in Chicago, where he was chief resident. He completed a fellowship in medical oncology and hematology at the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York. Atiq is the immediate past president of the American College of Physicians, the largest medical specialty organization in the United States, and was the first Arkansan elected to that office

Send this to a friend