2023 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Finalists Announced

2023 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Finalists Announced
A Google Street View image of Black Angus restaurant in Little Rock, a finalist for the 2023 Arkansas Food Hall of Fame (© Google)

Arkansas Heritage has announced the finalists for the 2023 class of the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame.

They are:

  • Betty’s Old Fashion of El Dorado (Union County)
  • Big Banjo Pizza of Pine Bluff (Jefferson County)
  • Black Angus of Little Rock (Pulaski County)
  • Bulldog Restaurant of Bald Knob (White County)
  • Daisy Queen of Marshall (Searcy County)
  • DeVito’s Restaurant of Harrison (Boone County)
  • Hugo’s of Fayetteville (Washington County)
  • Kream Kastle of Blytheville (Mississippi County)
  • Meacham's Family Restaurant of Ash Flat (Sharp County)
  • Ozark Cafe of Jasper (Newton County)
  • Skyline Cafe of Mena (Polk County)
  • The Ohio Club of Hot Springs (Garland County)

The nominees for proprietor of the year are: 

  • Chuck Taylor, Taylor’s Steakhouse of Dumas (Desha County)
  • Chester and Laura Huntsman, Beech Street Bistro of Crossett (Ashley County)
  • David Stobaugh, Stoby’s Restaurant of Conway (Faulkner County)
  • James Woods, Woods Place of Camden (Ouachita County)
  • Jamie McAfee, Pine Bluff Country Club of Pine Bluff (Jefferson County)
  • Jim Keet, JTJ Restaurants of Little Rock (Pulaski County)

The Hall of Fame, launched in 2016, recognizes Arkansas’s legendary restaurants, proprietors and food-themed events across the state.

More than 1,800 submissions were received from all 75 Arkansas counties for the this year's class. 

"Arkansans are proud of their food flavors and traditions," Mike Mills, secretary of the Arkansas Department of Parks, Heritage and Tourism, said in a news release. "We know residents across the state will join us as we celebrate these restaurants, events and food people as finalists for this special program."

Winners will be selected by the Arkansas Food Hall of Fame Committee and then announced March 6 at a ceremony in Little Rock at the Central Arkansas Library System’s Ron Robinson Theater.

More info is available on the Hall of Fame's website.