Arkansas Business City of Distinction 2011

The Sam M. Walton College of Business established the first Arkansas Business Hall of Fame in 1999 recognizing Arkansans - by birth or by choice - who have been successful business leaders. The Hall of Fame is designed to honor, preserve and perpetuate the names and outstanding accomplishments of business leaders who have brought lasting fame to Arkansas. For more information or to nominate someone for the honor, please visit the official website.

Latest News

Arkansas Business Hall of Fame 2019: Claiborne P. Deming

Claiborne Deming is an educated man. But his legacy won't be his own academic pursuits. It will be those of students in the town of El Dorado, Arkansas, – home to Murphy Oil Corporation – through a program Claiborne dreamed up and named The El Dorado Promise. read more >

Arkansas Business Hall of Fame 2019: Joseph M. Steele

In the 1950s, several business leaders saw the need for a reliable source of water for Northwest Arkansas. One innovative trailblazer – Joseph Marion Steele – led the charge to secure a large water source for the residents and industry in Benton and Washington counties. read more >

UA Business Hall of Fame 2019: Warren Stephens

Warren Stephens grew up watching father, Jack, and his Uncle Witt expand Stephens Inc.'s influence and holdings, and was proud of the impact the business was having, especially in their home state of Arkansas. read more >

UA Business Hall of Fame 2019: John W. Tyson

With a battered truck, half a load of hay and only a nickel in his pocket, John W. Tyson needed to hustle. read more >